top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureconservativecody

My First Post! Welcome!

Thank you for swinging by! For my first post, I wanted to take a moment and tell you a little bit about me ... Conservative Cody.


Well, to start off, my full name is Cody Michael LeBlanc. When my mother was picking out names, she wanted to pay tribute to one of her favorite cousins, Tim, and her sister, Michelle. Cody may not seem similar to Tim, in the slightest. Well, you would be correct. Tim was a very popular rodeo star, many years ago and went by the name Tim "Cody" Nordell. Thus, her love of the name Cody ... and the rodeo. Michael is a tad bit easier to connect the dots with Michelle, but you get the idea. We are a very tight-knit family.


In 1587, our first relatives, Ananias and Eleanor (White) Dare, set out for the colony of Roanoke. Shortly after arriving, Eleanor gave birth to the first English child to be born in America on August 18th, 1587 and they named her Virginia Dare. I won't go into her entire story, as most of us should have learned it in high school history class.


I am going to fast-forward a couple hundred years to 1872. In 1872, Robert Daeg Dare homesteaded in Fort Lupton, Colorado. He and his family were some of the first to arrive to the Fort Lupton area. Over the next few years, our family grew, with the Whitesides and Hauses moving to town.


Now that it is 2020, Fort Lupton is still home for my grandmother (Genevieve Ellen Nordell LeBlanc), mother (Mary Ellen LeBlanc), aunt and uncle (Michelle Marie LeBlanc-Gross and Kevin Scott Gross), and me. We aren't sure if we like it here or just really do not want to pack nearly 150 years of history.


My conservative values stem from my love of country that have been instilled from a very young age. My great-grandmother, Mary Louise Hause Nordell, passed away when I was four. Growing up to that point, I spent my days on her lap, building blocks, "heel-n-toe'in" string (green) beans, and playing with toy animals. She and my grandmother were very active in the Daughters of the American Revolution, Eastern Stars, Territorial Daughters, and United Methodist Women. These organizations encourage active civic engagement. Additionally, our cousin, Bill Jerke was a County Commissioner, here in Weld County, and a State Representative in the 1980s and 90s. Boy did that get their political juices flowing.


My mother has been the true example of dedication and perseverance. She has worked for the local bank for over 26 years, volunteered with countless organizations, and possesses one of the biggest hearts I have ever seen. When she was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis, her doctors warned her to slow down a bit. Well, she tried that ... Here we are, about 10 years later, and she is more involved than ever before. She is currently serving her fourth term as President of the Fort Lupton Chamber of Commerce, third term as President of the Fort Lupton Food & Clothing Bank, and fourth term as President of the Weld County 4-H Leaders' Council.


When I was six, my grandmother and I started a dog biscuit company, known first as GENCOD Products and later as Bizcuits & Bonz. In 2007, I received the Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award from the Janus Fund and Daniels Foundation. Since 2007, GENCOD Products re-emerged as the parent company for six other businesses, as GENCOD Products & Services. This business has provided an opportunity like no other. How many six year-olds do you know filling out tax documents?


Well, we definitely cannot forget about one of the most important aspects/passions of my life... Rabbits! I know, not the most widely-known hobby, but nonetheless, one of the most competitive, intricate hobbies out there. I have been raising rabbits since 2007. Over the years, I have competed nationally on judging teams, shown throughout the country, visited 32 states, and received my Registrar's License from the American Rabbit Breeders Association. I currently serve as Secretary for Rocky Mountain High Shows, INC., the Colorado State rabbit organization.


I guess it is only natural that I be as actively engaged in the communities that raised me. Over the past 22 years of my life, I have been actively involved with over 100 organizations, throughout the country. In addition to the rabbit organizations I am involved with, I also serve as Treasurer for the Fort Lupton Food & Clothing Bank, District Captain for the Weld County Republican Party, President of the Fort Lupton High School Parent Teacher Student Association, Co-Executive Director of Freedom Advocates of the Rockies, and work on the boards of nearly 25 other organizations. To date, my proudest moment came on Tuesday, November 5th, 2019, when I won my bid for the Weld Re-8 School District Board of Education. I have always had a passion for learning and education. As someone who thoroughly enjoys history and random trivia, I knew that education was a path I needed to take. While as a conservative, I am not supportive of the federal (or even state) government's role in education, I am a strong proponent for local control. It is time Americans stand up and take our country back, at every level!


I know I have gone on and on, but I really wanted to provide a little bit of insight as to who is writing these posts. I am always available, should you have a question or an idea for a blog post. Feel free to write me at cody@conservativecody.com anytime. I look forward to hearing from you and pray that our discussions will lead to a more engaged, service-minded community.


God Bless you, your family, and the USA,


~ Conservative Cody

80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page